LASU Governing Council Approves Reinstatement Of Five Sacked Lecturers

LASU Governing Council Approves Reinstatement Of Five Sacked Lecturers

Lagos State University (LASU), governing council has approved the reinstatement of five union leaders of the university chapter of Academic Staff Union Of Universities (ASUU) that were sacked a few years back.

The five reinstatement Union leaders were sacked by Professor Adebayi Ninalowo governing Council under the then Vice-Chancellor, Prof,Olanrewaju Fagbohun in 2017 and 2019.

According to Daily TRUST, the decision of the governing council to reinstate them followed the recommendation of the Appeal Committee headed by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Adenike Boyo, that the affected lecturers be reinstated.

At the meeting, which lasted till Wednesday night, the Sir David Sunmoni-led governing council accepted the recommendations of the Appeal Committee and approved the reinstatement of the five ASUU-LASU leaders.

The union leaders reinstated are – Chairman of ASUU-LASU, Dr. Akinloye Isaac Oyewumi; Vice-chairman, Dr. Adebowale Adeyemi-Suenu; Secretary, Dr. Anthony Dansu; Assistant Secretary, Dr. Adeolu Oluwaseyi Oyekan and the Treasurer, Dr. Oluwakemi Aboderin-Shonibare.

SEE ALSO: 13-year-old Junior Secondary School Girl Jailed On Mistaken Identity Sues Instagram, School For N124.5m

DailyTrust learnt that they would receive their reinstatement letters next week; though the University management is yet to issue an official statement to announce their reinstatement.

It would be recalled that the management of LASU in September 2019 sacked three lecturers of the institution for allegedly using stolen documents to expose alleged fraud.

The lecturers were accused of unauthorised removal, retention, and dissemination or publication of official confidential documents.

The then Adebayo Ninalowo-led governing council of the university at a meeting wielded the big stick. The three lecturers were Dansu, Oyekan, and Abodunrin-Shonibare.

The governing council had in October 2017 dismissed Oyewunmi and Adeyemi-Suenu alongside 14 others.

Click Here For Latest Updates On Telegram 👉

The new Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Ibiyemi Olatunji-Bello on assumption into office set up a committee headed by Professor Dapo Asaju, to look into labour disputes in the institution, particularly the case of the five union leaders that were sacked.

Source: Daily Trust 


Post a Comment


Latest Post

Balloting For A Suite Life In Unilag : A Fresher's Guide